Dementia Services Information and Development Centre

Advisory Group

In recognition of the national and pan-institutional scope of the DSIDC, an Advisory Group representing key stakeholders and professional groups with an interest in dementia assists the centre.


To provide an opportunity for representatives of the key stakeholder groups of DSIDC to share information and to provide support and advice to DSIDC.


  • To provide professional input in areas of own expertise.
  • To provide advice and support to the centre.
  • To promote the activities and image of the centre.
  • To make recommendations for action to the DSIDC Steering Committee.


The Advisory Group consists of representatives of various organisations who have an interest in furthering the aims of DSIDC and may include among others:

  • An Bord Altranais (ABA)
  • Consultant Psychiatrists specializing in Psychiatry of Old Age (CP)
  • Representatives of Nursing Homes and Carers
  • Representatives of Occupational Therapy, Physiotherapy and other Allied Health professionals
  • The Alzheimer Society of Ireland (ASI)
  • The Department of Health and Children (DOHC)
  • The DSDC Northern Ireland
  • The DSIDC Steering Committee
  • The Health Service Executive
  • The Irish Association of Social Workers (IASW)
  • The Irish College of General Practitioners (ICGP)
  • The National Council for Ageing and Older People (NCAOP)
  • The Northern Ireland Dementia Forum (NIDF)
  • The Nursing Council
  • The Office of Minister of State for Older People
  • The Royal College of Physicians of Ireland – Medicine for the Elderly (RCPI)

Current members include:

  • Dr Declan Byrne (Chair), DSIDC Steering Committee
  • Prof. J. B. Walsh (Vice Chair), DSIDC Steering Committee
  • Mr Lorcan Birthistle, DSIDC Steering Committee
  • Dr Conal Cunningham, DSIDC Steering Committee
  • Dr Elaine Green, DSIDC Steering Committee
  • Mr Robert Coen, DSIDC Steering Committee
  • Dr Louise Daly, DSIDC Steering Committee
  • Mr Matthew Gibb, DSIDC Steering Committee
  • Dr Siobhan Ni Bhriain, Consultant Old Age Psychiatrist, AMNCH
  • Professor Mary McCarron, Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Ms Cathy Mawhinney, Northern Ireland Dementia Forum
  • Mr. Adrian Lewis, St Patricks Hospital
  • Dr Jennifer Hoblyn, Irish College of Psychiatry
  • Ms. Sarah Mahon, Health Service Executive
  • Dr Emer Begley, Alzheimer Society of Ireland
  • Ms. Catherine Keogh, Occupational Therapist
  • Dr Pearse Finegan, Irish College of General Practitioners
  • Ms Mairead Creed, Department of Health
  • Ms Fiona Crehan, Irish Society of Chartered Physiotherapists